Don’t Forget about Nutrition

Date and Banana Loaf

Date and Banana Loaf

Nutrition is an essential ingredient in any runner’s training programme (see what I did there lol).  I’ve been doing some experimenting with some new, to me, healthy recipes and I’ve asked to share some of them.

Today’s culinary delights included a sumptuous Date and Banana Loaf made using Spelt Flour.

Ingredients:

Water; 200g Spelt Flour; 1 tsp of Bicarbonate of Soda (BoS); a handful of chopped pitted Dates; a handful of Raisins; 2 very ripe Bananas; 1/3rd a cup of coconut oil and 1 tsp of Vanilla extract.

NB I didn’t have coconut oil, so I replaced it with extra virgin olive oil and added the ‘coconut’ by adding 50g of Coconut Flour and more water. I also didn’t have enough Vanila extract….. I know, it’s all about planning…. so I used the tiny drop that I had and added the ‘Vanilla’ by adding a pinch of Vanilla Bean Dusting Sugar to the mixture and dusting the baked loaf with some more.

Method

Preheat the oven to 200c, butter or line a loaf tin, I buttered mine.

Pour the flour(s) and BoS into a food mixer and then slowly add the water, as the mixer blends the ingredients into a firm dough consistency. Then add the banana, dates, raisins, vanilla sugar and oil and blend it all together into a soft dough.

Spoon the dough into the loaf tin and pat if flat. Bake for 30 minutes, remove from oven and dust with the Vanilla Dusting Sugar and “hey presto” a very tasty and, suprisingly, light Date and Banana Loaf to enjoy after your run.

My Date and Banana Loaf

My Date and Banana Loaf

(Original Recipe supplied by Rachel Holmes)

Leave a Reply

