South Side Six – Results and Photos

Prize Guy - Jack Arnold

Prize Guy – Jack Arnold

I was successful this year, at the first attempt of trying, to get a place in the, increasingly, popular South Side Six.  A local race, starting and finishing in Queens Park and running through five other parks in the south of Glasgow and East Renfrewshire.

Unfortunately, due to my hamstring injury, I had to forgo the opportunity to run the sixteen mile, undulating, course but volunteered my photography services instead.

I agreed to take photos in Pollock Park and made my way up the boggy sheep’s trail to the local golf course, where I was able to capture the vast majority of the runners as they ran through their third park of the day.

Unfortunately for them, and for me, the mid day sun was beating down on the racers at this point and the harsh light made it difficult to take flattening pictures.  Soft light is much better.

Harsh Light

Harsh Light

After the last runner past me, I made my way as quickly as I could to the Finish line, where I caught some of the slower runners completing their sixteen miles.  I also took a number of photos of those that had already finished and then the prize giving ceremony.

Two Prizes for Cris

Two Prizes for Cris

It was another successful outing for Bellahouston Harriers, particularly the men, as Jack Arnold won the race, Cris Walsh was third (and first vet) and George Taylor was first super vet.

Golden Girl Mary McCutcheon

Golden Girl Mary McCutcheon

Mary McCutcheon of Giffnock North won the women’s race ( and first super vet), with Bellahouston Road Runner, Deborah Gray, placing runner up.

There were individual races amongst running buddies throught out the race. Well done to all, hopefully I’ll get to run it next year.

Running 'Buddies'

Running ‘Buddies’ BRR Leanne Mcintosh (30) and Terry Nimmo (179)

My Photos are here:

Batch 1;

Batch 2, 

Batch 3

and the full race results here.

Leave a Reply

