Dodgy Leg at Strathclyde parkrun #274

no runningWell I finally got to see the NHS Physiotherapist on Tuesday 6th October (the shortage of NHS Physios and the availabilty of them, at least in Glasgow, is shocking and if there is to be a real legacy from the 2014 Commonwealth Games, this needs to be addressed in the near future).

It’s fair to say that the Physio was a bit surprised that I had managed to run 13.1 miles, with my dodgy leg, and put a stop to any running, for the foreseeable future.  The recent injury was, as expected, to my right leg’s hamstring but this has also exacerbated an old rugby injury, causing the pain to move to different parts of my leg and effecting my mobility.  I’ve received initial treatment and have a list of stretches to do three times a day to fix the hamstring problem before we address the other issues.  I’ll have weekly appointments to see how things are progressing but in the meantime she’s ruled out any running for me.  She’s also not keen on me cycling and says that I can try swimming but have to stop if I feel anything twinge.  Which isn’t too bad as I really do need to work more on my swimming technique and the road running season is almost over. It’s been my best ever running season and a rest will do me no harm. Besides that I can always help out at races and take a few photos too.

On Wednesday, I marshaled at the Great Run Local in Glasgow and on Saturday, with a couple of friends adding Strathclyde parkrun to their parkrun bag, I headed to Motherwell to act as the volunteer photographer for the 274th event.

194 Runners

194 Runners

Amongst the 194 runners there were a couple marking their centenary of parkruns, namely Emma Main and Iain Dickson. I’m glad that they have photographs to commemorate their excellent achievements.

Emma's 100th

Emma’s 100th

Neil the Winner

Neil the Winner

Hamilton’s Neil Robbins won the event with a time of 17:54, which was just as well, as the 50-54 year old was also down as the event’s timekeeper!  Giffnock North’s Luke Chamberlain earned the runner up spot, with a time of 18:20, four seconds ahead of Hamilton’s Stephen Duffy.

Take two: Neil the Time Keeper

Women’s Race

PB running by Niamh

PB running by Niamh

PB for Joyce

PB for Joyce

In the women’s event, the star performer was Ronhill Cambuslang’s youngster, Niamh Riggins (11-14) who showed the older runners how to do it, by winning the race, placing 13th overall, getting a PB of 20:08 and a wava of 82.62%.  Sandra Reid placed second, with a time of 21:01 and Clyderunner’s Joyce Allardice earning bronze with a PB of 21:36, beating her younger competitor, Sylvia Mulholland, who had to settle for fourth spot, in her first outing, with a time of 21:49.

Sylvia goes Fourth

Sylvia goes Fourth

It was great to catch up with so many running buddies again and when I’m fit, I’ll return to see if I can improve my course PB.

Full Results

My Photos

All done!

All done!

  

Leave a Reply

