Fast Tempo at Great Run

Great Start

Great Start

Wednesday 22nd July and my new Garmin arrived, the Fenix 2 multisport with heart rate monitor, although I was out of sorts, I couldn’t resist the opportunity of trying it out by cycling down to the Broomilaw and participating in the Great Run Local 5k.

Fenix 2

Fenix 2

I met up with a number of friends and running buddies and explained that, despite the good running conditions, much cooler than the previous two weeks, I wouldn’t be running flat out but doing a tempo run instead.  One mile reps had already been arranged for Thursday morning and my intention was to save myself for them.

A healthy 45 of us lined up for the 6:30pm Start and as the event got underway, I began more conservatively than last week and tucked in behind Alan Hair, we were soon joined by Sarah Munn and I ran the first kilometre in 4:07, a bit too fast, so I took my foot of the gas and ran the second kilometre, in a more acceptable 4:20 (average heart rate AHR 153)..

However, whilst I was happy to allow Alan and Sarah to leave me behind, I lost a little bit of discipline though when fellow Bellahouston Harrier, Chris Paton, appeared on my shoulder, I decided to hold him at bay for a while and I increased the pace to 4:12 (AHR 154).  I dropped the pace for the 4th k, which took 4:18 (AHR 155).  At the final turning point, I increased the pace again and focussed on trying to close the gap on Sarah..  The final kilometre took me 4:02 and my AHR was 156, giving me a time of 20:54 for the 5k (a wava of 74%).  I had taken exactly the same time as last week and to complete the reiteration, I placed 8th again, behind Alan and Sarah.  Sarah not only won the women’s race again but clocked up a PB of 20:26 in the process.  Chris placed 9th in 21:09, followed by fellow Bella, Erica Christie, in 21:21.

Up front, it had been another Bellahouston Harrier that had taken the plaudits, with Paul Clawson winning for the first time, in 18:35.
We cheered the other runners across the line, before I jumped on the bike again and made my way home.  Many thanks to the volunteers for arranging the event and to my fellow runners for the company and banter.  I won’t be there next week, as all roads lead to Ayrshire and the Kilmaurs 5k but I’ll be back asap.

Thanks to Stephen Morrison for the Start photo

Full results here 

Leave a Reply

