Giving the Great Local Run a Tri

Great Local Rainbow

Great Local Rainbow

After a tough session with the Harriers on Tuesday night, I was tired after cycling to and from the pool, where I had done another 1k drill session.  Around 5pm, I remembered that I had a Doctor’s appointment on Thursday morning, which would mean me missing the Thursday Thrash.  I made a hasty decision to give the newish Great Local Run at the Broomilaw another go.  I had previously participated in the 2k race and had placed well in front of the only other runner, the 5k had attracted more runners on that night but not that many.  Thursday 8th July had, however, attracted a record entry to the weekly, free, races, with some 52 runners, including at least seven Bellahouston Harriers and a number of Eglinton parkrun regulars, turning up for the 6:30pm start.

The Race Start with me in my Tri suit

The Race Start with me in my Tri suit

Again the vast majority of runners (49) chose the 5k event and we set off in the glorious evening sunshine, towards the city, turning right, over the squinty bridge, along the south of the Clyde, around a tree and back to the squinty bridge.  I had cycled down to the event and had decided to give my tri suit it’s first race experience. It’s a bit tight but didn’t seem to restrict my running too much and I was happy to settle into the race, some eleven places behind leader Darren McQuade.  As we crossed the bridge, Lizzie Mann overtook me but I returned the compliment before we had crossed the bridge.  A left turn, away from the city and along the busy walkway took us to the turn point, at around one  mile.

We repeated the route one more time and I heard someone shout my name, as I crossed the bridge for the fourth time.  I managed to catch another runner or two before we reached the turning point again.  There was still 1k to go, as I headed back along the Broomilaw, seeing the other runners chasing behind me.  I concentrated in getting as close as possible to the runner in front.  I crossed the line in ninth place, with a time of 20:42 and a wava of 76:15.  Full results here

I congratulated the other runners and we cheered the rest of the participants over the line. By this time my calf muscles were burning and I cycled home to complete my day of training, which had resulted in me cycling 15k, swimming 1k and racing 5k.
Many thanks to the seven volunteers who made the races happen and to my fellow runners.  You can sign up for the Great Local Run here. I’ll maybe see you there next week.

Pics by Stephen Morrison 

Leave a Reply

