Springburn parkrun’s First Birthday Bash 

Good Time at Anniversary 

There was a feeling of joviality at Springburn parkrun on Saturday 16th May as more than 100 runners turned up to celebrate the 51st staging of the event.

Prize Giving in the Wind

Prize Giving in the Wind

The first ever prizes were awarded to various people who had helped to get the weekly race established and had supported it over the last year, followed by the run itself and then the main event, sharing birthday cake and other tasty delights.

I had played a very small part in helping the organisers set up the run but hadn’t ran the course since event numero uno.  It was good to be back and to catch up with so many friends and running buddies.

It was 9:35 am  by the time the Run Director, Suzanne Shaw, sent us on our way, around the two and a half loops of the north Glasgow park.

With the occasion being held less than 37 hours after I had worked hard at the Helensburgh 10k and with another 10k on Thursday , my intention was to enjoy the celebrations, rather than chase a PB, in fact I had refused to look at my course PB prior to the run, in case I decided to try to break it.

However my slow start didn’t last long, as I decided to catch up with some of the runners who had dashed away from me right at the start.   A combination of some runners slowing and my pace gradually increasing resulted in me overtaking a number of runners and settling in a few places behind Springburn Harrier, Tony McGale.

Holding off a strong and sustained challenge from his club mate, Clare Gemmell, as we ran around the undulating course in the wind, hail, rain and sunshine, I increased the pace near the end and crossed the line in 17th place, with a time of 21:01.

21:01 for me

21:01 for me

I exchanged felications with those around me before joining them in sampling the Birthday cake and other refreshments, kindly supplied by the local runners and volunteers.  It wasn’t too long until the weather took another turn for the worse and I returned to the south side of the city and discovered that I had taken 65 seconds off of my course PB.  Hopefully I won’t wait another year to return to Springburn and get that PB below 21 minutes.

Results

Chris Black was first over the line, with a PB of 16:53 and with Clare forgetting her barcode the plaudits in the women’s event went to Elizabeth Paterson, who finished in a time of 21:50.

John Owens

John Owens

A special mention to Springburn parkrun founder, John Owens, who eventually managed to make his maiden run.

Thanks 

Many thanks to all concerned with Springburn, If you haven’t tried it yet, I’d recommend that you do.  I’ll maybe see you there.

Results here

Pics by David Dinnie

Leave a Reply

