A Tale of Two Races

After my wee break, where although I kept up the running, swimming was my main activity and my endurance has came on leaps and bounds. The food and wine were relatively cheap, great tasting and plentiful. Yes I overindulged, so I wasn’t really in the best condition to race a 3k on my return. I did try to persuade a friend to allow me to pace for her but she was having none of it and there was no hiding for me, as I lined up with another 72 runners for the monthly, Glasgow Green event.

Fast Start @ the 3k

Fast Start @ the 3k

My tactics were simple, start fast and try to hold on to the pace for as long as possible. My first kilometre was fast, I was working hard and I was pleased when I managed to hold off a challenge from a running buddy. I kept the work rate up but I could feel the dehydration kicking in and as I turned at the half way point, I knew that there would be no chance of a negative split today. I lost a few places on the way back and placed 30th. I was a wee bit dissapointed not to get another sub 12minute time, although, in hindsight, 12:02 wasn’t too bad for a post holiday race.

Leaders

Leaders

Up front, Andy Buchanan took gold on his first outing, smashing his 3000m track times to finish in a time of 09:27, Cambuslang’s Alasdair Campbell placed second with 09:42 and Shettleston’s Peter Mackie third with 09:49. Bellahouston Harrier Brian Douglas took an amazing nine seconds off of his PB to earn fourth spot with 09:51. Andrew Brown was first Super Vet and tenth overall with his time of 10:11.

In the Women’s Event, Central’s pocketless wonder, Lyndsay Morrison shaved a few seconds off of her own record to set a new one of 10:01 but was a little dissapointed not to smash the 10:00 barrier.newrecord2

Bellahouston Harrier Bernie O’Neill, continued her great form and took another 5secs off of her PB, placing second in 11:24, with her club mate Clare Macaulay, continuing her comeback, earning third with a time of 11:56 and fellow Bella Caroline Cochrane 12:14, one place ahead of Club President Erica Christie, who placed first Super Vet with 12:18.

Full Results here

Long Run or parkrun?

I wanted to watch the London Marathon on Sunday morning, which is when I usually do my long run but I also wanted to do a parkrun too, so I decided to turn the clock back and combine the both of them. I wasn’t looking for a particularly long run but wanted to get over the ten mile mark, which is what I classify as the minimum of a ‘long run’. I also wanted some post run coffee and chat, so I decided to plump for the Pollok parkrun, which is one of the most sociable.

I drove along to Pollok Park and then ran out along the cycle path towards Paisley. I was going to run 3.5 out and back but I wasn’t feeling great and my pace was slower than usual, I didn’t want to miss the start of the race, so I turned around after 3 miles and got back for the Start in plenty of time. I joined the masses further back than usual, tucking in behind Rodger McEleney and had to walk the first few congested metres. I was planning on settling for a steady run but it didn’t take long for Rodger to set off, weaving his way through those in front. I found myself boxed in and it took me a wee while to catch up with him again. However when I did I was feeling comfortable and maintained my pace passing him after about a mile. I then spied one running buddy, after another and set out after them as I made my way up through the field. I increased the pace in the last mile and was happy to cross the line in a time of 22:17 in 61st place, out of a total of 413 runners

A 1k warm down, took my total run to 10.4 miles, job done and parkrun 163 in the bag. My long warm up had made me run better and I’m now wishing that I had actually raced a bit faster.

Bella PBs

One person that did run well was young Bellahouston Harrier, Kirstie Cochrane who celebrated her tenth parkrun by taking 35 seconds off of her PB, crossing the line in a time of 27:35, second in the JW10 category!

Iain Morrison

Iain Morrison

Other Bella Harriers gaining PBs, included Iain Morrison (50-54) placing tenth with an impressve time of 18:10; and Stephanie Baird (25-29) who placed 17th woman and 102nd overall, with a time of 23:35. Well done to all of them and many thanks to all the volunteers who make parkrun happen and to the friendly staff in the Burrell Cafe.

Stephanie Baird

Stephanie Baird

Full Results

Leave a Reply

